A Pandora for Books: Yes, Please

Book LampSo I’m about 10 years late to the party, but I’ve been listening to Pandora a lot lately. It keeps me company during the more mindless tasks at work and, now that I have the app on my iPhone, it is great entertainment on a picnic or at the beach.

Now just as I’m getting in the Pandora game, I read about a supposed Pandora for Books. According to the Mashable article about it, BookLamp “works by cataloging what the startup sometimes refers to as “DNA of books.” The Da Vinci Code, for instance, contains 18.6% Religion and Religious Institutions, 9.4% Police & Murder Investigation, 8.2% Art and Art Galleries, and 6.7% Secret Societies & Communities (among others), according to BookLamp’s engine. The program also catalogs things like denseness and length, all of which allow it to take someone’s favorite book and recommend others like it.”

Sounds good to me!

Then again, based on my adoption rate, I’ll really be getting into BookLamp in about a decade. We can chat about it then.

Leave a Reply

