The Vel’ d’Hiv Appears Again

Sarah's KeyFor whatever reason, I really like when things I’ve learned about in old books reappear in current books. Such became the case with Broken for You.

When I started the book I had no idea where it was going. And now that it’s almost done, I would never have expected the places it went. Including a story involving the Holocaust and, specifically the Vel’ d’Hiv. The Vel’ d’Hiv is a rarely talked about round-up of French Jews during the Holocaust. And it happens to be a main part of the book Sarah’s Key.

While Sarah’s Key isn’t on my mom’s list, I’m pretty sure she read it and appreciated it. My book club read it a year or two ago and I too enjoyed it (as much as you can enjoy a very sad book). I had never heard of the Vel’ d’Hiv prior to reading Sarah’s Key so it’s so interesting to see it pop up in another novel.

I like the way even very different novels can be connected.

Leave a Reply

