A Review of Broken For You

Broken For YouI just finished Stephanie Kallos’ Broken For You a few minutes ago, so I’m not sure how much perspective I have on it yet, but I do know I liked it.

Broken For You surprised me. I had no idea where it was going and did not predict all of the things it would touch on. From abandonment to art to the ramifications of the Holocaust, it covered a lot of ground.

There are, of course, pitfalls to being so ambitious. At times the plot drags on and at other times it seems to skip ahead in time without warning. Some relationships were painfully drawn out while others happened in the blink of an eye.

At first, I was concerned. One of the main characters, Margaret, seemed to talk to her antiques. Soon it began to make more sense. And then it didn’t even bother me that there were hallucinations of dead people. Kallos brings it all together well.

What I enjoyed most of all was the quirkiness of the characters. From Margaret’s decision to break her things to Irma’s spunk and unnaturally red hair, each person stood out. The characters made the book.

Leave a Reply

