The Rules of Civility In My Ears

Rules of CivilityYesterday I finished The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman on audio. I had been listening for a while, but when it came to an end I still wasn’t sure how I felt. It’s made up of a series of short stories about people who work at an international newspaper. I really enjoyed some stories and did not enjoy other stories. All were pretty depressing. And one was very disturbing. Like walk-into-my-apartment-mouth-agape disturbing. In the end, I don’t think I would recommend the book or audio.

Now that it’s over, though, I can move on to the next audiobook. And that brings me to The Rules of Civility by Amor Towles. I’ve been hearing really great things about the book since it came out in July. I added it to my TBR list with a question mark next to it because, while the reviews have seemed positive, I wasn’t sure it would appeal to me.

The book is described in part as such:

Set in New York City in 1938, Rules of Civility tells the story of a watershed year in the life of an uncompromising twenty-five-year- old named Katey Kontent. Armed with little more than a formidable intellect, a bracing wit, and her own brand of cool nerve, Katey embarks on a journey from a Wall Street secretarial pool through the upper echelons of New York society in search of a brighter future.

Based on the description alone, I would want to read it eventually though it would surely fall behind many other more pressing books for me. That’s the beauty of audiobooks. I love using audio as a way to consume books I’m interested in, but would probably never get to.

2 responses to “The Rules of Civility In My Ears

  1. Pingback: So Many Books At Once | Reading for Robin

  2. Pingback: The Night Circus on My iPod | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

