So Many Books At Once

Stack of booksI think I’ve discussed my choice to read more than one book at a time, but I can’t seem to find that post so I’m going to talk about it again. In the past, I’ve “read” multiple books at once, but that mostly involved reading a book while listening to an audio. Now I’m attempting to read two books and listen to an audio. At the moment, I’m in the middle of The Emperor of All Maladies, a novel for work, and The Rules of Civility on audio.

So how’s that going for me?

It’s… going. The Book Lady describes it as “book polygamy” and I like the phrase so much I might have to steal it. Just as she explains, I too thought I would have a “system” for tackling all of these books. The audio is mostly for walking to and from work and various other locations. No problem. Then I thought I would read my fiction book in my spare time when I got home from work or on the weekends, while tackling the 600 page behemoth of Emperor of All Maladies with a very manageable 10-20 pages per night before bed. Well, easier said than done.

It turns out reading a book all about cancer right before bed makes me fall asleep. It’s not that The Emperor of All Maladies isn’t really interesting (it is!), it’s just not a topic that can overcome a little sleepiness. So, I’ve tried to change things around. Read a few pages of Emperer of All Maladies earlier in the day and then switch to fiction. Still, I’ve realized the best system to handle this juggling is to have no system. I read what I want when I’m in the mood. If that means I put down fiction for a few days before coming back to it and ignoring non-fiction so be it. They will all get done eventually. And fortunately, it’s hard to mix up what’s going on in a biography of cancer with the plot of a novel so things are staying nice and separate.

Anyone else out there as crazy as me and reading more than one book at a time?

Leave a Reply

