My First Eugenides Experience

The Marriage PlotToday is a big day in the literary world… Jeffrey Eugenides’ newest novel The Marriage Plot is out. Eugenides is the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Virgin Suicides and Middlesex. I’m ashamed to admit, though, that I’ve never read either. Especially since, in recent months I’ve had friends tell me that these are some of their favorite books.

Fortunately, I did have a chance to read The Marriage Plot and I really liked it. The characters Madeleine, Leonard, and Mitchell are recent Brown graduates and are caught in a love triangle of sorts. The story reinvents the traditional “novel” with a modern angle.

I’ve heard it’s pretty different from Eugenides’ previous novels, but I’m sold. I’m ready to take on The Virgin Suicides and Middlesex. I’ll add them to the list…and maybe sneak in The Virgin Suicides movie too.

Leave a Reply

