Next Up: Deeper Than The Dead

Deeper Than The DeadJust when I think I’m getting to the end of my mom’s list, it seems to grow right before my eyes. There’s still a whopping 18 books left! So if I’m not at the real end of the list, I might as well jump down to the literal end of the list. Which brings me to Tami Hoag’s Deeper Than The Dead.

It also seems to be good timing. The title is vaguely Halloween-y and the cover is definitely autumn-y.

From the description the book does not sound like my normal fare:

California, 1985-Four children and young teacher Anne Navarre make a gruesome discovery: a partially buried female body, her eyes and mouth glued shut. A serial killer is at large, and the very bonds that hold their idyllic town together are about to be tested. Tasked with finding the killer, FBI investigator Vince Leone employs a new and controversial FBI technique called “profiling”, which plunges him into the lives of the four children-and the young teacher whose need to uncover the truth is as intense as his own. But as new victims are found, Vince and Anne find themselves circling the same small group of local suspects, blissfully unaware that someone very near to them is a murderous psychopath…

Serial killers haven’t been my usual reading material lately but it does call to mind my Mary Higgins Clark obsession of my younger years. And if nothing else, it’s a departure from my ordinary.

Leave a Reply

