Have A Very Literary Halloween

Sherlock Holmes costumeHappy Halloween everybody! Admittedly, this is one of those holidays that lost its luster sometime between the ages of dressing as Little Mermaid and dressing as Sexy Little Mermaid. (It’s also better when there isn’t a freak snowstorm in October, but that’s another story.)

Even though I do not enjoy coming up with a costume, I can appreciate the creativity of others. That’s why I like GalleyCat and Random House’s efforts to aggregate literary halloween costume ideas. There’s a Curious George, Rhett Butler, and Heathcliff to name a few. There’s also a link for great ideas for kids including Scout from To Kill a Mockingbird, Laura Ingalls Wilder from Little House on the Prairie, The Cat in the Hat and more.

Now that I think about it, I inadvertently wore my own literary costume for a party this weekend. In looking for an easy out, I went the generic detective route as pictured here. However, it totally qualifies as a Sherlock Holmes get-up. And I’d like to think Sir Arthur Conan Doyle would be proud.

(Please note my costume appropriately involved a trench coat but it was way too hot inside to keep it on.)

2 responses to “Have A Very Literary Halloween

  1. Ha ha great costume! I love the Holmes look!

Leave a Reply

