My Year of Un-Notable Reading?

New York Times Book ReviewThis post should really just be a copy and paste of my gchat conversation with Carley from a few days ago. But for the sake of (slightly) more coherence and (slightly) more proper grammar, I will restate my thoughts as actual paragraphs.

Not only are sleigh bells ringing and snow glistening, but this is also the time of year when every publication, blog, and myspace-er puts out a Best of 2011 list. The book industry is inundated with them. You could spend days scouring the internet for all of these lists, but I mostly stick with the biggies. And in my mind, The New York Times (my mom’s favorite newspaper) is the biggest of the biggies. So, I was anxious to dive into their 100 Notable Books of 2011 list.

Turns out I had a very un-notable year of reading. Out of the 100 titles, I’d only read three: The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides, The Leftovers by Tom Perrotta, and Train Dreams by Denis Johnson. And I read all of those for work! Oh, and I have the Submission by Amy Waldman on my Kindle waiting to be read.

Worst still, is I hadn’t even heard of a good chunk of the books on the list. And I’m in the industry! Perhaps I need to start paying more attention. Or perhaps the New York Times is just over my literary head. I’ll have to try a little harder to be cultured next year.

In the mean time, maybe I should see if Entertainment Weekly has a list instead.

Leave a Reply

