2011 Recap: Favorite Non-Fiction

Puppy DiariesI figured this would also be an easy category for me. As I mentioned, I hardly read any non-fiction in 2011 so there is a small pool from which to pick. In total, I read six non-fiction print books and, of those six, five were memoirs. That may not sound like a lot, but it felt like a lot.

I have to be honest and say none of the non-fiction I read blew me away. I think 2011 is officially the year I got memoir-ed out. I use to enjoy a good memoir every now and then. I even really liked The Tender Bar from my mom’s list which I read in 2010. However, there are just so many memoirs on my mom’s list that they start to blend together with their random stories and often lack of focus. That’s not to say any were bad per se, just none could qualify as my favorite this year. Which leads the one non-memoir, non-fiction book I read to take that dubious honor. Congratulations to the Puppy Diaries by Jill Abramson!

Jill Abramson is the executive editor of the New York Times and her book chronicles life with a new puppy. There are anecdotes on puppy behavior, advice for puppy training, and a couple cute photos thrown in. I mean, it was a book about a puppy…that’s enough for me!

Of course if we’re including audiobooks, I need only point to two of my three favorites of the year I mentioned yesterday. Both Bossypants and Unbroken would top this list, but I feel bad picking the same titles for both categories. I don’t know why – I’m the one making up the rules.

Regardless, thanks to those resolutions of mine, I’m hoping for a wider range of good material to choose from for Favorite Non-Fiction next year.

Leave a Reply

