2011 Recap: Favorite Fiction

A Visit from the Goon SquadThere’s a reason I did this category last. I’m a terrible decision maker! This begs the question why did I force myself into making this decision in the first place. I am not sure what the answer is to that. I’m a masochist? I run out of ideas for blog posts? A little bit of both?

When tackling this task, you would think I’d have some sort of method for the madness. That would be incorrect. I should of course go back through my posts to remind myself of my original reactions to all of the books I read. But that sounds time-consuming and I’d rather spend that time reading. So instead I looked over the list of books I read and waited for a gut reaction to kick in.

Turns out 2011 wasn’t my favorite year of reading. I liked books well enough but very few things stood out. I’m not sure I would gush too much about any of the books. Maybe that should be a goal for next year – find a few books I want to gush about.

Anyway, the title that caused the most reaction in my gut (that sounds weird) is… A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan!

It might seem to be a strange selection seeing as I didn’t even talk about it that much on the blog. I mean there are probably at least 2-3 times more posts about Bossypants. Still, it was a book club book and I think it worked out really well. My main reason for picking it is that A Visit from the Goon Squad combines an entertaining story with topics worth discussing and a cool format that changes things up. It is certainly something out of the ordinary for books and I like that when executed well. This is executed well. Plus, it won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction so clearly I’m not the only one who liked it.

So stay tuned for next year’s best of the best. I hope to have something gush-worthy!

3 responses to “2011 Recap: Favorite Fiction

  1. I downloaded this book on my Kindle before I left for Moz, based on your positive review. I finally read it last week & thought it was so interesting! Wish I could talk to you about it in person ❤

  2. I’m so glad you found it interesting!

  3. Pingback: Beautiful Ruins Book Club | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

