Next Up: Disquiet

Wow, I haven’t had a “Next Up” post in a while. It’s been more than a month since I started a new book from my mom’s list and it’s about time I get back to it.

I decided to jump back in with Julia Leigh’s Disquiet mostly because it is short. DisquietNormally this isn’t my only criteria, but seeing as it comes on the heels of the very long Dovekeepers and probably right before I start the very long The Art of Fielding, it seemed like a good idea to break up the behemoths with something a little briefer. Plus it was one of the few non-memoir choices.

Here’s the overview:

Olivia arrives at her mother’s chateau in rural France (the first time in more than a decade) with her two young children in tow. Soon the family is joined by Olivia’s brother Marcus and his wife Sophie—but this reunion is far from joyful. After years of desperately wanting a baby, Sophie has just given birth to a stillborn child, and she is struggling to overcome her devastation. Meanwhile, Olivia wrestles with her own secrets about the cruel and violent man she married many years before. Exquisitely written and reminiscent of Ian McEwan and J. M. Coetzee, Disquiet is a darkly beautiful and atmospheric story that will linger in the mind long after the final page is turned.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

One response to “Next Up: Disquiet

  1. That’s the next book I’m reading…I can’t wait to read your thoughts about the book. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

