Two Years Without My Mom

Mom and meTwo years, huh? I just went back and re-read my post from this day last year, and I feel the same way now that I did then. On one hand, I feel like it just happened and on the other hand it feels so long ago.

Overall, this year was a good year. I just wish I could have shared it with my mom. The biggest event of course was getting engaged to Andrew, and I can’t wait to get married in September. Having watched endless episodes of Say Yes To The Dress with my mom, it’s weird to be doing it all without her.

Everyone who knew my mom knows what a loss it is not to have her in their life anymore. Still, even as I miss her and think of her every day, I remind myself that I am lucky. After watching my friends once again join together and step into action this week, I know there are so many great people in my life. I have a wonderful dad, brother, and family, family friends and friends who are like family, and Andrew who will soon be family.

If this post rambles, it’s because after two years I still don’t know how to talk about it. But the most important thing to me is that I keep reminders of my mom in my life, and reading and blogging here is just one small way I do that. Thank you all for following along and thinking of my mom often as well. It’s nice to know she won’t be forgotten.

7 responses to “Two Years Without My Mom

  1. Beautiful post Sam, your mom will never be forgotten. Love you.

  2. Samantha, I can’t believe it has been two years myself and I think about your mom so often and all the fun times we had. I miss her and have never known anyone in my life with such compassion and kindness as your mom.
    Congratulations on your engagement and know that your mom is with you every step of the way. I can’t believe you are getting married as I remember the first time I saw you, you were only 8 months old. I will probably be in Florida sometime in March and am sure your Dad and I will have our usual wing night. I enjoy your blog and will look forward to reading it and hope to see you soon. We will be in New York in October as Mel wants to celebrate hr 40th birthday there,

  3. Not a day goes by when I don’t think about your mother, but she’s especially with me every Sunday morning as I plod through the Sunday puzzles and remember how our two heads were better than one when it came to figuring out some of the tricky themes. And so many times, in different circumstances, I think to myself, what would Robin do, what would Robin say, I wish I could talk to her? She was a wonderful person and the best, best friend, and I miss her every day.

  4. Samantha, you are really honoring your mother’s memory, today and every day.

  5. Robin will never be forgotten… she touched so many lives in a positive way; to know her was to love her. We had so many good times; I miss her every day. I’m thankful to have known her and have her as a dear friend,
    Yesterday, I bought a balloon for Robin, wrote a message on it and let it go; as I watched floating in the sky, I started laughing to myself…wouldn’t it be funny if it landed on the roof of Walmart? Robin’s least favorite store!

  6. yes, this entry was a wonderful tribute; i have been busy and hadn’t read your blogs this week, but we thought of mom and talk about her almost everyday. yes too, on one hand it seems like yesterday and on the other hand it seems more than that. keep up your good work and hope to see you next time you are down in florida.

Leave a Reply

