A Review of Starting Out Sideways

Starting Out SidewaysBefore I started Mockingjay this weekend, I finished Mary E. Mitchell’s Starting Out Sideways. If it seems like I read that quickly, it’s because I did. And I was surprised how much I enjoyed it!

Starting Out Sideways is the story of Roseanna Plow. Her husband has just left her for her best friend and she’s bickering with her mom as usual. But she’s not completely without love. There’s her mentally challenged client Milton who thinks the world of Roseanna, and then there’s grocery store manager Mickey Hamilton who has a crush on her as well. The book confronts relationship problems, illness, and one very big surprise.

I found myself finishing one chapter and having to start the next. I got much more invested in the book than I thought I would. I’m not sure why I had such low expectations. Perhaps it’s because it is one of the last on my mom’s list or because I hadn’t heard anything about it before. Either way, my expectations were exceeded.

Still, I don’t believe Starting Out Sideways is a book I will still be thinking about a week or two down the line. The story and characters kept me hooked, but it isn’t the kind of book that sticks with me for the long haul. But I am happy to take it for what it was – a story I really liked living with all week long.

Leave a Reply

