Next Up: I’m So Happy For You

I'm So Happy For YouContrary to its title, I’m only ambivalent about reading Lucinda Rosenfeld’s book I’m So Happy For You. The subtitle, A Novel About Best Friends, sounds promising enough. But after reading the description, these best friends don’t sound like anyone I know.

The publisher summarizes the book, in part, as:

Wendy’s best friend, Daphne, has always been dependably prone to catastrophe. And Wendy has always been there to help. If Daphne veers from suicidal to madly in love, Wendy offers encouragement. But when Daphne is suddenly engaged, pregnant, and decorating a fabulous town house in no time at all, Wendy is…not so happy for her. Caught between wanting to be the best friend she prides herself on being and crippling jealousy of flighty Daphne, Wendy takes things to the extreme, waging a full-scale attack on her best friend-all the while wearing her best, I’m-so-happy-for-you smile-and ends up in way over her head.

So much for best friends.

Normally I don’t read the reader reviews on Amazon, but for some reason this title had me scrolling down the page. The headlines on the visible reviews jumped out at me. “With friends like these… I’d move, change my name, and only make friends with men!” “I’m So Unhappy for Me.” “The Worst Book I have Ever Read.”

So, why am I reading this book? Well for one thing it is on my mom’s list and I will have to get to it eventually. However, I also have to say the bad reviews almost intrigued me. And with most books that have some bad reviews, there are others who really liked it. I guess I will soon find out which camp I fall into.

One response to “Next Up: I’m So Happy For You

  1. Pingback: A Review of I’m So Happy For You | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

