Me And Books About Children With Cancer

The Fault in Our StarsSo today at work talk turned to John Green’s new novel The Fault In Our Stars. I’ve been seeing this book everywhere. The cover jumped out at me at Barnes & Noble. I read about it in a magazine. And now my coworker has recommended it enthusiastically.

However, before I read it, I think I have to emotionally prepare myself. It is going to involve a lot of tears. I mean can you blame me? The young adult novel’s summary is:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

It’s been moved up to next on my ever growing list of books to read. But first I had to consider what is wrong with me wanting to subject myself to this clearly sad story. Then I remembered that this is nothing new for me.

As a kid I read a lot of books about children with cancer. I don’t know why. I gobbled them up. Recently, I have tried to remember the name of the author of these books. Surprisingly, googling “books for kids about kids with cancer” did not get me the results I wanted. I tried to explain this dilemma to Maggie and before I even finished my sentence she blurted out “Me too! Lurlene McDaniel!” Of course, she was right.

Lurlene McDaniel’s books have titles like “When Happily Ever After Ends” and “Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep.” And this is what I was reading as a child (plus a lot of Holocaust books). I don’t get it either. But apparently they are popular since her website indicates that McDaniel is still writing these babies.

Anyway, I have no doubt that The Fault In Our Stars is a different kind of novel. Deeper and quirkier, I imagine. Still, I’m looking forward to getting back to my reading roots.

3 responses to “Me And Books About Children With Cancer

  1. What do you do when your gmail is working and you need to remember the name of a book? Look at RFR! Bought this to read on my trip, thanks for the recommendation! xo

  2. Pingback: In The Air With The Fault In Our Stars | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

