Movie News: King Dork!

King DorkMy mom must have had an eye for cinema. Another book from her list is hitting the big screen. On a side note, doesn’t it seem like every book is getting a movie deal these days? Anyway, the particular book/film in question is Frank Portman’s King Dork. I don’t think the movie deal itself is new, but there has been some updates on the people involved. Plus it’s new to me!

According to Deadline.com, director Matt Piedmont will be working with Gary Sanchez and NALA films on King Dork, which was adapted for the screen by D.V. DeVincentis. I admit I don’t really know who any of those people are. In fact, when I first read the article I thought Gary Sanchez was a person. Well, technically Gary Sanchez is a person, but it’s also a production company run by Will Ferrell and Adam McKay. Hey, I know who they are! That being said, I wouldn’t be surprised to learn that Will Ferrell found a role for himself in the movie. But I have no idea what that role would be. (And that’s only partially because I’ve already sort of kind of forgotten the details of the book. But I think I liked it?)

King Dork starts shooting in June and IMDB says it will be in theaters in 2014. That’s far away so you may want to mark your calendar now.

Leave a Reply

