A Review of Good Girls Gone Bad

Good Girls Gone BadI finished Good Girls Gone Bad this weekend. I promise I did other stuff too (like brave Macy’s during its Friends & Family Sale… be impressed), but I like the feeling of accomplishment I get from finishing a book so I’ll focus on that for now.

As an aside (did I say I’d focus?), the title of this book is a bit misleading. As I discussed it with some friends this weekend, they may have thought I was going in a more girls gone wild direction than I actually was. Alas.

I wonder what I would have thought of Good Girls Gone Bad had I not had contact with the author. At times it seemed a little zany. The characters are certainly out there. I’d call them crazy but that’s not nice when you are talking about a bunch of women who all met at group therapy. They have terrible relationships with men and together they try to work on these slash carry out revenge on those who have wronged them. Like I said, it gets a little zany.

However, author Jillian Medoff, gave me a heads up that she intended more than just a wacky tale of girl friends gone awry. She described it as a dark satire about family. So I went into it with that mind frame. At times, the hijinks were so over the top that it was harder to see the message. But I think I got it.

The importance of family, and finding a way to deal with the past and present, is a major part of Good Girls Gone Bad. So is friendship. It was these parts, more than the scheming, that made the biggest impression on me.

Leave a Reply

