Become Friends With Inspector Gamache Like Me

Bury Your DeadLike this post’s title? Because I do.

I have a new series to tell you about. And by new series I mean there are already eight books in the series but it might be new to you.

The series is Louise Penny’s Armand Gamache books. They are mysteries set in Quebec and feature Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of the Surete du Quebec. I don’t read that many mysteries any more, but back in the day (like way back… think pogs and bicycle shorts) I use to devour mysteries. I read the Boxcar Children and Nancy Drew before graduating to Mary Higgins Clark and Agatha Christie. Now when I read a really good mystery I am reminded all over again why I loved these types of books.

And Louise Penny’s books are really good mysteries. But most of all they are just really good books. The mysteries are almost besides the point. I love the main characters, Inspector Gamache and his right-hand man Jean-Guy Beauvoir, and just like spending time with them while reading the novels. Don’t worry, I have real friends too.

If eight books sounds too daunting, you don’t have to start at the beginning. I didn’t. In fact, I started with book #7: Bury Your Dead. Or rather, I started with audiobook #7: Bury Your Dead. I really recommend listening to these. The narrator, Ralph Cosham, is fantastic and it’s really helpful to hear how to pronounce all the French words. Now I know just how to pronounce “Jean-Guy Beauvoir”. I switched to print for book #8, A Trick of the Light, but will probably switch back to audio at some point. Anyway, jumping in in the middle was only a little confusing and I figured things out pretty quickly.

So if you like engaging mysteries, great characters, and lots of French words, I’d wholeheartedly recommend Louise Penny.

Leave a Reply

