A Review of The Next Thing On My List

The Next Thing on My ListI love when I am pleasantly surprised. I’ve gone into the last few books on my mom’s list with a bit of a negative attitude. I mean, there’s probably a reason I’ve left them until the end, right?

Apparently, not always. I’m not sure why it took me so long to get to Jill Smolinski’s The Next Thing On My List on the list (sorry I just love doing that). I really enjoyed it! It was light women’s fiction, and there’s nothing wrong with that.

Despite a somewhat sobering concept – after Marissa dies in a car accident, June takes over her list of life goals – the story is actually a fairly fun one. The list contains items like “go bra-less,” “be on TV,” and “change a person’s life.” While June is adrift in her own life, these tasks provide direction and focus. Not to spoil it or anything, but I bet you can see where this is going. In the process of living out Marissa’s life, June is making a big impact on her own.

Regardless of the obviousness implied in that last sentence, I was pleased that the plot wasn’t quite as predictable as I had expected it to be. There were a few twists that I didn’t anticipate that I really appreciated. The resolution was satisfying without being too neat. The perfect outcome.

Overall, I’d recommend The Next Thing On My List as a nice, quick read. In fact, I’m a little sad to be crossing it off my list.

Leave a Reply

