Overseas Jumps The Queue

OverseasI had a plan. As soon as I finished the current book for work I was reading, I would pick up Anita Diamant’s Day After Night and then go for the book club book. Then I went and ruined the plan.

In the last few weeks, I’ve seen this new book Overseas by Beatriz Williams mentioned everywhere. It’s popped up on tons of book blogs and all over the Twitterverse.

Williams’ website describes the book like this:

Amiens, France, 1916: Captain Julian Ashford, a British officer in the trenches of the Western Front, is waylaid in the town square by Kate, a beautiful young American. Julian’s never seen her before, but she has information about the reconnaissance mission he’s about to embark on. Who is she, and why did she track him down in Amiens?

New York, 2007: A young Wall Street analyst, Kate Wilson learned to rely on logic and cynicism. So why does she fall so desperately in love with Julian Laurence, a handsome British billionaire with a mysterious past?

What she doesn’t know is that he has been waiting for her… the enchanting woman who emerged from the shadows of the Great War to save his life.

Not exactly my thing (a little too implausible for my tastes), but the reviews were mostly raves. I made a note that it seemed interesting, added it to my TBR list, and moved on with my life.

Then yesterday, my coworker finished the book and we started to discuss it. I asked if I could borrow it some time. It turns out she had taken it out of the library. (Yes, I still plan on getting myself to the library one of these days.) However, the book isn’t due back for another week so she lent it to me on the condition that I read it… and fast.

So, sorry about that Anita. Beatriz beat you to it. “It” being my eyeballs and my reading attention. You’ll have your time too.

Leave a Reply

