The Lover’s Dictionary Complete

The Lover's DictionaryThis weekend, in addition to completing Anita Diamant’s Day After Night, I managed to start and finish The Lover’s Dictionary. I make this out to be a big feat when in fact it took a few hours at most.

The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan is this month’s book club selection. It is a love story told entirely through “dictionary” entries. Of course, these definitions are far from Webster approved. Instead, they reveal the tale of a relationship.

I’ve heard gripes from friends that the book is too disjointed and lacking a major plot. This is probably true. However, I don’t mind because I find the story structure great. I love the idea of a book told in a completely different format. It is so clever, and it’s amazing how much you can still learn about this couple even told in this way. Of course, I may be biased because the book contains one of my favorite words ever, “kerfuffle.” Levithan’s definition:

“kerfuffle, n.

From now on, you are only allowed one drink at any of my office parties. One. Preferably beer.”

Such a good word and such a great way to illustrate it.

Still, I’m not exactly sure what we will discuss at book club aside from the book’s format. There isn’t a ton to dissect, but I’m okay with it. We don’t do that much dissecting anyway. It’s just nice to do something a little different.

3 responses to “The Lover’s Dictionary Complete

  1. kerfuffle!!!

  2. phyllis groskind

    Sam Give me some good ideas for our bookclub. The book I picked is not in print…Becoming Auma. Help! Phyllis G.

  3. What kind of book are you looking for? I liked the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and The Submission.

Leave a Reply

