What Must Come Before The “Next Up”

The Deep End of the OceanAs I just finished a book from my mom’s list, this would be the time I would pick what to read next from those left. But as I researched the remaining options (only 7!), I came upon Jacquelyn Mitchard’s No Time To Wave Goodbye.

I bought this e-book way back in 2010. I didn’t read it then because I discovered that it is actually a sequel to a book called The Deep End of the Ocean. Since then I have skipped over it. However, there’s not that many other books so I can’t keep skipping over it forever. Thus I had a decision to make. Jump right in or step back and read The Deep End of the Ocean first. I’m guessing I could understand No Time To Wave Goodbye on its own, but would it be the full experience? That’s questionable. So I’m going for it. I’m going to read The Deep End of the Ocean. It was apparently the first book chosen for Oprah’s Book Club and it was made into a movie starring Michelle Pfeiffer and Treat Williams in 1999. Plus, I feel like perhaps my mom read The Deep End of the Ocean and liked it if she put the sequel on her to-read list.

I will admit, though , that The Deep End of the Ocean isn’t exactly “next.” First, I will treat myself to Jonathan Tropper’s new book One Last Thing Before I Go. Then I might throw in a work book. Still, The Deep End of the Ocean is next in terms of my mom’s books and it will get its due soon enough.

2 responses to “What Must Come Before The “Next Up”

  1. Pingback: Preparing to Cry | Reading for Robin

  2. Pingback: An Update: Where I Am Now | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

