Getting Unlucky in Kentucky

KentuckyYou know how normally when I travel I complain about having to fly but then extol the good reading time I will get? Well this past weekend I think I got over that frame of mind. There is such a thing as too much reading time.

Andrew and I spent the weekend at a wedding in Kentucky. We had a great time… until it came time to leave. After getting to the airport way too early (not my choice) it turned out our flight was delayed. Then delayed some more. And then finally canceled. We had to get a room at the airport hotel and then head back out for a 6am flight connecting through Atlanta. Good times. I think after 6 hours in the airport and a few more for the flights, even I got sick of reading time.

However, the silver lining in the travel delays was that I did in fact read a lot. I even finished The Deep End of the Ocean. It was pretty depressing and I tried hard not to sob in public. Fortunately, I knew there was a sequel so I was reasonably assured that the conclusion wouldn’t be completely devastating. I did get sucked in, which is good since I had some time to kill, but it may have been a little more emotionally draining than I would have chosen. Nevertheless, I am kind of looking forward to reading the sequel.

One response to “Getting Unlucky in Kentucky

  1. Pingback: The Age of Miracles Based In Reality? | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

