New Audio In My Ears

The ChaperoneBelow is a post I wrote last week and just now realized that I forgot to publish. Let’s travel back in time and read past Sam’s thoughts…

When it rains, it pours. Not only did I finish my print book this week, I also finished the audiobook I was listening to. I really enjoyed Born to Run (if I didn’t live in gross New York City I might even be a tiny bit convinced to forgo my sneakers… yeah, right). I recommend it, particularly in audio, for anyone with even the slightest interest in running, or even in just good narrative non-fiction.

Still, I’m ready to move on. I’ve been on a bit of a non-fiction kick when it comes to audiobooks, but I’m going back to fiction for the next one. This morning Laura Moriarty’s The Chaperone was on my iPod and accompanying me to work. Does that title sound familiar? Could it be because I haven’t stopped talking about it for weeks? I don’t know, perhaps. If you haven’t been lucky enough to hear me droning on about it, here’s the quick synopsis:

A captivating novel about the woman who chaperoned an irreverent Louise Brooks to New York City in 1922, and the summer that would change them both.

The audiobook is narrated by Elizabeth McGovern, who plays Cora on my newest obsession: Downton Abbey. Coincidentally (or not? hmm) the main character of The Chaperone is also named Cora.

Anyway, if Downton Abbey isn’t coming back to American television for quite a few months, I figured I might as well soothe myself with Elizabeth McGovern’s voice. And it doesn’t hurt that the book has gotten heaps of praise.

One response to “New Audio In My Ears

  1. Pingback: A Book Club And A New Audio | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

