The Age of Miracles Complete

The Age of MiraclesWell, that didn’t take long. Credit two plane rides and a nice relaxing weekend for the fact that I have already finished Karen Thompson Walker’s The Age of Miracles.

Of course, it should be noted that perhaps the biggest reason I finished so quickly is that I really enjoyed it! The Age of Miracles tells of a time when the earth’s rotation mysteriously begins to slow. Days and nights get progressively longer and the effects are felt across the globe. Animals start to die out, crops are threatened, and life changes bit by bit. All of this upheaval is detailed from the perspective of 11-year-old Julia. Her observations about the disaster are interwoven with preteen crushes and friend dramas. It creates a great point of view and humanizes the story.

I should have known going in that this would not be a story that was all rainbows and puppies. The world is falling apart after all. However, Walker does a good job of making the story more than just one depressing anecdote after the other. It may not be lighthearted, but I highly recommend this novel.

And now I am jumping back to the saga of the Cappadoras. I am starting No Time To Wave Goodbye, the sequel to Jacqueline Mitchard’s The Deep End of the Ocean, which I finished last week. Perhaps I should have given myself a longer break. It is an emotionally draining story, but I might as well read it while the plot is still fresh in my mind.

I originally bought No Time To Wave Goodbye for my Kindle back on July 11, 2010. That was before I realized it was a sequel. Just over two years later and I’m finally getting to it.

Leave a Reply

