A Review of Baby Love

Baby LoveLast night I finished Baby Love by Rebecca Walker. It was… not my thing. Maybe it’s because I just haven’t gotten to the point in my life where I’ve contemplated the issues she covers.

The book is a day-by-day accounting of Rebecca’s pregnancy. Her diary-like entries chronicle all the highs and lows, joys and fears, triumphs and complications that she experiences along the way.

At first, I couldn’t really understand why this would be on my mom’s list. Past her childbearing years, my mom couldn’t have necessarily been that interested in another woman’s pregnancy. Of course, I understand it’s more than just about her pregnancy. Instead, it explores society’s ideas about pregnancy and the author’s own complex journey toward deciding on motherhood. But still…

Then I remembered that Walker is probably most famous for her memoir Black, White and Jewish. While  I’ve never read it, the title sounds vaguely familiar. I would not be surprised if my mom read it and told me about it.

Throughout Baby Love, Walker throws in tidbits about her life and background. As you might assume from her earlier memoir’s title, Rebecca is biracial (her mom is black and her dad is Jewish). She is the daughter of Alice Walker, author of The Color Purple, and the two don’t get along. She had a five year relationship with a female musician before meeting her current partner Glen. And those are just the highlights. It sounds like she has had a really interesting life. That is what I prefer to read about, in full rather just in pieces. So perhaps I should have started with Black, White and Jewish. Maybe then I would have been more invested in Baby Love.

Alas, only five books left on my mom’s list. I can’t believe I’m almost done.

One response to “A Review of Baby Love

  1. Pingback: A Review of The Three of Us | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

