The Perks of Being a Wallflower in the Theaters

The Perks of Being a Wallflower movieLast night, Maggie, Dani, and I saw The Perks of Being a Wallflower movie. It was about time considering I’ve been talking/posting about it for more than a year and a half.

You would think that since I read the book not that long ago I would have known what to expect. Alas, my book amnesia kicked in. I remembered something about a loner kid who had some sort of troubles making a new group of friends, taking some drugs, and stepping out of his shell. And while that is all true, it did not prepare me for the emotional punch coming my way. I forgot how upsetting the story gets. Good thing I almost always travel with a pack of tissues in my purse.

Despite all the tears near the end, I did like the movie. It seemed to take some time to get into a rhythm (the letter form may have contributed to the beginning’s choppiness), but once it did it was well done. I’d never heard of Logan Lerman, who plays main character, and I think he really embodied Charlie. Emma Watson was really good too… even if she did slip back into her British accent in a scene or two. And the supporting characters all added to the movie.

I’m glad I saw the movie…even if I left with a craving for something light and funny. The presidential debate waiting for me at home on DVR didn’t quite hit the spot.

Leave a Reply

