Tell The Wolves I’m Home For Book Club

Tell the Wolves I'm HomeAs I’ve mentioned, Carley and I are the hosts of the next book club. This involves providing the location, the food, and, yes, the book selection. With that comes a lot of pressure! You never want to be the one that picks a book that everyone hates. Plus, I feel an extra sense of responsibility since I work in the book industry. I feel like I should have some insider knowledge about the good books, but it doesn’t always work that way.

This time around it came down to two books for us. One was Defending Jacob by William Landay. Carley’s grandma had read it and raved. Turns out, lots of other people we talked to had heard great things too. Then there was Carol Rifka Brunt’s Tell the Wolves I’m Home, a novel I had seen mentioned on a book blog I like. No one we talked to had heard of it at all. What to do, what to do?

Carley and I went back and forth a lot. Personally, we both wanted to read both books eventually, regardless of which we picked for book club. At one point we flip-flopped positions. Finally, I made the call based on the totally arbitrary basis of Goodreads reviews. Yes, we’re indecisive. Defending Jacob has an overall score of 3.96. Tell the Wolves I’m Home has a 4.26. Decision made? So it would seem, but we continued to waffle. (Clearly, we take this responsibility pretty seriously). While the people we talked to seemed excited about Defending Jacob, we ultimately decided that book club should be about exposing each other to books we might not otherwise have read. Tell the Wolves I’m Home it is.

You can read about the book on the author’s website. However, the one sentence synopsis, as I understand it, is that Tell the Wolves I’m Home is a coming-of-age story about a teenage girl who becomes friends with her late gay uncle’s partner. If nothing else, it’s a concept I have not read about before. And I’ll get to Defending Jacob too I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

