The Book Thief Gets Adapted

The Book ThiefOftentimes, I’m here telling you about a book I read that is now being turned into a movie. (See the last post I wrote.)

This time I’m talking about a book I read that is now being turned into a movie… and a play. I’m talking about The Book Thief. While it’s unclear when exactly the movie will be made, the play is happening at this very moment (well, depending on what time you are reading this). The show opened last week as a young-adult production at the Steppenwolf Theater and it will continue to run through November 11.

I read the Book Thief by Marcus Zusack as part of book club back in book club’s early days. It’s one of many books about the Holocaust I’ve read, but it separates itself with a very different narrator. The story is told by Death. The device at times bothered me with it’s obvious foreshadowing, but I appreciated the new angle. And apparently so did others. The book has been a major bestseller.

While I won’t make it to the show, I think it’s pretty cool that the book has been adapted as a play. Maybe I’ll catch it in the movie theater…

Leave a Reply

