The Middlesteins at the Top of the TBR

Happy Halloween everyone!The Middlesteins

It’s been awhile since I read about a book that made me want to read it right now.

The other day I saw someone mention The Middlesteins by Jami Attenberg on Twitter. For some reason, I decided to click to learn more. I was intrigued. Then I read about it on the New York Times’ website. I investigated on Goodreads. I did my research. In the end, I decided that I want to read this book and I want to read it soon.

Here’s a little taste of what the book’s about (no pun intended) (okay, pun intended) (you’ll get it when you read the description):

For more than thirty years, Edie and Richard Middlestein shared a solid family life together: two children, a nice house in the Chicago suburbs, ample employment, generous friends. But now things are splintering apart, for one reason, it seems: Edie’s enormous girth. She’s obsessed with food–thinking about it, eating it–and if she doesn’t stop, she won’t have much longer to live. With pitch-perfect prose, huge compassion, and sly humor, Jami Attenberg has given us an epic story of marriage, family, and obsession. The Middlesteins explores the hopes and heartbreaks of new and old love, the yearnings of Midwestern America, and our devastating, fascinating preoccupation with food.

I can’t quite explain why, but I was hooked.

The book also comes with a Jonathan Franzen blurb right there on the cover. He say, “The Middlesteins had me from its very first pages, but it wasn’t until its final pages that I fully appreciated the range of Attenberg’s sympathy and the artistry of her storytelling.” I’m not sure if I’m fully convinced by a Franzen quote, but it certainly lends the book some credibility.

Now I just have to get through America America and a work book before I can get to beginning The Middlesteins.

One response to “The Middlesteins at the Top of the TBR

  1. Pingback: Book Club Picks The Middlesteins | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

