A Quote Worth Quoting: America America

QuotesJust the other day I was talking with Maggie and Carley about the blog, and they wanted to know whatever happened to my recurring feature “A Quote Worth Quoting.” I hadn’t done one of those in more than two years! They requested I bring it back, but I would only say I’d keep an open mind. If I saw something that stood out, I would consider it. Then I promptly forgot the conversation.

That is until I was minding my own business, reading the latest from my mom’s list, America America, when a sentence stood out. A sentence that is so appropriate for this very blog.

And so I present to you, for the first time since August 2010, a quote worth quoting:

“Your childhood home without your mother is no longer your childhood home.”

It’s a sentiment I can relate to. I still love going home to see my dad, but there’s no denying that things are not the same. The house just feels different. Ethan Canin, the author of America America, captures that feeling.

Leave a Reply

