Reading Outside the Box

1Q84In honor of Haruki Murakami’s birthday, Book Riot posted this quote of his: “If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.”

I love this idea. Too often, I choose to focus on the books on the bestseller list or the books that are getting all the buzz. I can’t help it, I want to read what everyone else is reading so we can talk about it! Of course, I don’t always bend to popular will. I only read the first 50 Shades of Grey book, I never finished the Harry Potter series, and I’m sure there are tons of other hits I’ve never touched. Still, I need to spread my wings a little.

In fact, that has been one of the best things about my mom’s list. It has forced me to read books I never would have picked up otherwise. This year, even after I finish my mom’s list, I’m going to try and continue to branch out. I want to read some classics, some old popular books that I missed, novels outside my comfort zone, etc. But believe me, I’ll still be reading plenty of the popular stuff.

Speaking of trying new things, maybe I should read a Murakami after all.

4 responses to “Reading Outside the Box

  1. I’ve been wanting to read this book and now that quote makes me want to read it even more. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Same here, I’ll love to read the book, will order it soon. Hey, I love your blog!!

Leave a Reply

