“What Good Books Have You Read Lately?”

Billy Lynn's Long Halftime WalkWhen you work in publishing and have a book blog, people think you know a thing or two about books. Weird, right?

Since I love talking about books I appreciate this assumption, but it does bring a certain amount of pressure. By now, I really should be more prepared.

Out at a bar on a Saturday night two different people asked me what good books I’d read lately. Not a hard question, especially for someone who reads as much as I do. And yet, I struggled. I pretty much answered both with an “Oh, um, hmm, let me think… uh, well, I’m listening to Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk now and it’s, uh, pretty good.”

Perhaps because I’ve been reading a lot of manuscripts for work lately, I don’t have that many current books to recommend. Plus I am horrible at remembering what I’ve read recently. Still, I should be able to come through with an answer.

I think from now on at any given time I should have a list of the top books I’ve read in the past few months assembled in my head for when the situation arises. My current one would probably include Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk (well, it’s true), The Middlesteins, Game Change, Where’d You Go Bernadette, and Beautiful Ruins. Give me a few months and I’m sure it will change.

Leave a Reply

