A Review of The Thin Place

The Thin PlaceIt’s taken me a while to write this review of The Thin Place not because I have been putting it off but rather because it’s taken me a while to read The Thin Place.

Unfortunately, Kathryn Davis’ novel is one of my least favorite I’ve read from my mom’s list. It didn’t help that I read such short sections at a time that I frequently lost track of who was who and what was happening. But more than that I think my problem with the book is just that it is a little too out there for me. Chapters would jump around from plot to the thoughts of various animals to reflections on nature. I get that the author was trying to make the point about how all of the universe is connected and the line between life and not life is a “thin place,” but I am too much of a concrete person for these asides to mean much to me.

As I often do, I wonder what my mom would have thought of this book. And that is the one downside of being done with The Thin Place. It means that there is only one book left on the list. And while I am excited to complete this undertaking, I think it will be a little sad to be done.

However, that does mean that I will get back to reading books of my choice (or really, probably, more books for work). So at least hopefully that means I will be reading faster and more.

Leave a Reply

