Interested in the Interestings

The InterestingsI’ve been in a bit of a reading slump lately. My lack of interest in The Thin Place kept me from reading very often and now I find myself well behind in the number of books I’ve read year-to-date compared to previous years. But it’s not all about the numbers and now I’m ready to reclaim my reading enthusiasm.

Well, sort of.

At the moment I’m catching up and reading a few books for work. So far, I’m enjoying the one I’m in the middle of now so things are looking up.

On the purely for pleasure side of things, though, I’ve found a new addition to my TBR list. And it’s an interesting one… The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer.

If the name Meg Wolitzer rings a bell, it could be because her book The Ten Year Nap is on my mom’s list and I went to one of her readings at Barnes and Noble awhile ago. While I wasn’t super excited about The Ten Year Nap, I never blamed that on the author, just that it seemed to target a different, slightly older demographic. I did like her writing. Now, with The Interestings, I think I’ve found a Wolitzer book I would really enjoy. Here’s the (short) description:

The summer that Nixon resigns, six teenagers at a summer camp for the arts become inseparable. Decades later the bond remains powerful, but so much else has changed. In The Interestings, Wolitzer follows these characters from the height of youth through middle age, as their talents, fortunes, and degrees of satisfaction diverge.

I mean, I love camp! Plus, this book seems like it would appeal to all age groups.  It helps that I’ve been reading rave reviews on this one everywhere (Entertainment Weekly, I’m looking at you). Also, I’m a sucker for the pretty cover. All good things.

Hopefully, I’ll get to The Interestings this summer when a good amount of travel will probably mean a good amount of reading time.

Leave a Reply

